This, That, and Whatever!

So many things to talk about and not enough time!!! How is everyone? Please leave a comment and let me know. My blog expires in 5 days. Please let me know if you get ANYTHING out of it and would like me to continue. I get paid $O.for this blog. It is more of an outlet for the many thoughts that run through my brain and I hope to inspire SOMEONE with the content. That being said, it COSTS me to continue. But I will if enough of you think I should.

I love to hear the birds sing outside. Am I weird? Does anyone else enjoy this too? Since this may very well may be my last blog, I’m going to lay it all out here. Do you know what I hate most in life? I most hate fake people-you know, the kind who are friendly to your face but talk about you behind your back kind of people. And I mean talk about you in not a good way. This can even be family members. Most church people I have found, fall into this category. With them it is disguised as “fellowship” or “prayer requests.” I’m not talking about true blue Christians, but church going fakes. There are a lot of them. I used to be one of them, lol!

5e1224ba9403c574d4948b3b67008acb

I miss some aspects of my youth. Holding my grandmother’s hand and walking to the store. It seemed like such a long way to walk. I miss the simple things in life like just talking to people face to face. There was absolutely no such thing as “social media” in the 70s!  What have we become as a society? Family members hide behind a keyboard & texting has become the accepted way to communicate. That is so sad to me.

I also hate “obligatory gifts.” You know the kind-the quick “run into Wal-Mart because it is this day or that day sort of gift.A simple call once in awhile would suffice. Flowers die. Oh but Stephanie-it’s the THOUGHT that matters! Exactly! Not much THOUGHT went into that “hurry up, obligatory gift.!” Why do people spend so much time trying to impress others? The façade can only last so long. Sadly, some have perfected the façade. At the end of the day, when there is no one but you and your conscience, you will always be a miserable person because you know that you have done wrong. Keeping up a façade is hard work.

CbQ1j-RUcAAjn61

The love of dogs: Dogs are smart. They know how to “train” their masters. Dogs will not starve to death. They will eventually eat what is put down for them if they get hungry enough. Yet, we always want to attribute human characteristics to canines. They look at you with “those eyes” and oh. my. god. Pulease feel sorry for them! Leave the damn dry food down for them and they will eventually eat it! They are great companions and know when to die. We stupid humans are the ones who keep them alive for our own selfishness. Sad to say, this goes on with human beings too.

Do you want to know what the problem with healthcare really is? Go and observe at a buffet. Human gluttony at is finest! No personal responsibility exists much these days. The “I want to do as I want to do then expect the medical world to fix me” mentality has got to stop! The entitlement mentality has got to go! No one, absolutely no one, owes you anything! And for shit’s sake, stop listening to the news and all of the propaganda! Get educated! Think for yourself! 12963402_10205448781409446_2460976231155154477_n

Nurses are people too. We get tired, we get hungry, and we have to pee. Yet so MUCH falls on our shoulders. We do NOT have control over when the physician will see you. We CANNOT tell you the results of your tests. We are NOT waitresses that can get coffee for all 15 of your family members who decide to show up! We do NOT make up the questions that we have to ask you on admission. In fact we HATE asking most of them. I’m sorry that you think they are stupid and unnecessary, but guess what? I think it’s STUPID that you don’t even know what medications you take! PERSONAL RESPONSIBILITY PEOPLE!!! I wish I had a $100.00 for every time a patient stated, “It should be all there in the computer.” Well guess what? It isn’t always accurate, especially if it has been a few months since you’ve been to the hospital. We also do NOT know when you will get a room. You came to US remember? We did NOT go out searching for you. Yet, you’re getting the help you need & the treatment you need at the time,even though it may not be the most luxurious accommodations, so shut the HELL up! Yet we continue to give service with a smile and treat you like royalty.

13226895_1178570555495148_3269989800159374596_n

On running: It does not ruin your knees, blow out your back or give you heart failure, but guess what does? Being overweight, having diabetes, hypertension, high cholesterol, having a sedentary lifestyle, eating CRAP, smoking, poor dental hygiene, and NOT following your prescribed regimen and/or not taking your medication! I am always amazed how patients cannot pay for their $4.00 prescription but continue to buy cigarettes! Pardon me if I do not cry for you Cleopatra! The sob stories – ad nauseum! I have said it before, and I’ll say it again. If it is running that kills me, I shall die a happy person who has lived a full, active life…and able to fit in an airplane/amusement park seat.

Cit8_S4XIAANCUg

So I shall close with this: Who were you before the world told you who you should be? Why aren’t you acting on those dreams and goals? Quit making excuses and start living, because dying is inevitable!

Your feedback is important to me. Please let me know in the next day or so. That being said, if this is the end…hope to see you out on the road or trails!!!

Stephanie

Published by

Stephanie W.

Finding my way as I navigate the second half of life. I seek to inspire, motivate, encourage, & celebrate life through laughter & running. I am redefining aging & what it means to live life to the fullest irrespective of one's past or present circumstances. "Man is so made, that whenever anything fires his soul, impossibilities vanish." -La Fontaine

10 thoughts on “This, That, and Whatever!”

  1. Let me start of by saying I have always liked you and considered you a friend. My thoughts on your blog are… I love to hear the bids sing too! One of my favorite things are setting on the deck in the morning drinking coffee and watching the birds. I also hate fake people. A lot of people don’t like me because I will tell it like it is, good or bad. I totally agree about church people. That is the exact reason I quit going to church. I find that they are the most judgemental of all people. I also agree that social media is the downfall of us all. No one speaks to one another anymore, they text or Facebook. About the obligatory gifts. I feel that most people anymore just want cash or gift cards. They just want to be able to pick their own gift out, although It should be that it’s the thought that counts! I don’t try to impress anyone. Either you like me or you don’t!! It’s your choice… As long as I have the love of my family, I could care less if you like me or not. Although I am appreciative of all my friends! I love my dog more than I love most people! She is my most loyal companion. She never leaves my side and gives me many hours of unconditional love! I agree that the mentality of today’s society is that they are *owed* things. We over indulge in most everything. I blame video games and computers for the lack of exercise in today’s society. As a child I was put out of the house to go find something to do. Today children are put in front of a computer, television, ect.. to find something to do. I also agree that you have a demanding job.. But it is no more demanding of many other people’s jobs but, in different ways. That is your chosen occupation. You chose that occupation . We all have have days when someone else pushes us to our limits. But, that is why it is called work. We are there to make a paycheck. Work sucks! It helps when we enjoy what we do but, there will always be challenges. There are things we love and things we hate. Judging one over the other is only one man’s opinion and we all have them! Doesn’t make one right over the other. We just all need to learn to have compassion and tolerance for one another. I am however in total awe of your athletic endurance. You give us all hope and inspiration to get moving!! All I ask is that you don’t judge someone because they don’t that have the same commitment in life as you. Some people are just happy to be who they are. Good or bad!. Sometimes the ones that dislike judgemental people are the ones that are the most judgemental…. #wasabigfatgirlwholostherweightdietingandexcersing#menopausehaskickedmyassthough

    1. Thank you for your comments. I feel that you have misinterpreted some of my thoughts/opinions (and they are MY opinions). I would never judge anyone based on MY commitments. Yes, I chose my profession and I LOVE being a nurse. The expectations of us in healthcare are over the top. More responsibility-do more with less. I do not believe that what I do sucks. The long hours suck, the flow of things suck, but being a nurse and caring for people never sucks! (and I would add that being responsible for the lives of people is a bit more demanding that most jobs). I too, was a fat kid-the one picked last in kick ball. You may not have known me then or don’t remember. All of my family members have died of a heart attack or a stroke. I do what I do because of that. Strokes are ugly. Nothing like being trapped in your own body and not being able to talk or use a body part. I, as you, have a right to judge one’s actions. I never judge someone’s motives or them as a person. If one is happy with who they are, so be it! That is wonderful! We all do what we do for personal reasons. I do not post my runs/athletic ability for self promotion. I believe in health promotion. I have a group of running friends who encourage each other through our posts. If someone feels judged because of what I write, that is on them, not me. It has never, nor ever will be my intention to slight someone for how they live their lives. I said from the get go that this blog was my opinion. My biggest pet peeve is that those who know what they need to do to get well/healthy and refuse to do it, yet expect the medical world to fix them. As the old saying goes, “You can’t cure stupid.” I have compassion & tolerance for people, but never for certain behaviors especially when they are repeated over & over again. I struggle with stuff the same as anyone, though it may be different “stuff.” I have been judged my whole life. Human nature does that to appease conscience. I do not care because I am comfortable in my own skin. Those who really know me, know that this is true.

  2. Hi Stephanie, just in case I do not finish reading this post before your blog expires, I wanted to comment now.

    I would really enjoy continuing to hear from you, but obviously you gotta do what you gotta do.

    A short, I found your blog the day after my failed attempt at first 100 miler, and for reasons I cannot remember, the post made me smile, and the time you put into replying to my comment meant a lot to me.

    So just wanted to say thank you, obviously most of us do not get paid to blog and is apart of what makes it difficult sometimes, especially when we really do not want to do anything on it.

    So either way, keep the blog or not, I wish you all the best and maybe I will find you somewhere on social media to keep up with all your adventures in running.

    Have a wonderful day!

  3. Thank you Adam! It seems that I have gotten more positive feedback than negative-at least from those who dare to comment. There will always be naysayers, that is just life. I like to think that we are all adults who can agree to disagree and not take things personal. We crazy runners are known to push the limits in running and in life. To me, that is living life to the fullest. You can’t live a full life being unhealthy. That idea seems to offend some people. Thankful for readers like you who are positive and encouraging!

  4. O.M.G.

    Pretty much agree with all of it! And as much as you get paid $0.00 per post, I know I’ll be sad of the blog disappears! Hope you decide to keep on keeping on, cause I definitely love reading! But clearly, do what’s best for you and if that’s no more blog, NO BIG DEAL!

Leave a comment