This Onion Called Life

Here it is the last day of 2015 according to the Gregorian calendar. What a year this has been! I don’t really make “New Year’s” resolutions since a resolution is defined as “a firm decision to do or not do something” (Google search). I feel that saying I will or will not do something for 365 days is to set myself up for a fall. I prefer daily resolutions, those being different than commitments (Google Search).

Commitment: The state or quality of being dedicated to a cause, activity, etc.

I can commit to things months down the road and “Lord willing and the creek don’t rise,” and I’m still breathing, or don’t have a family emergency, I will be there, do whatever. We’ve all had those disappointments when someone said they were going to be there for us and they let us down. Which brings me to the topic of de-cluttering.

My oh my how I have accumulated stuff over the years-and STUFFED it! Finding stuff I forgot I had is almost like Christmas. So I resolute on a daily basis to throw away/give away SOMETHING. I have read articles that state a de-cluttered living space helps to de-clutter your mind.

I have also committed to, and resolute on a daily basis to de-clutter my life of negativity and of those people who choose to live there. Yes, I realize that everything cannot always be sunshine & roses, but I am speaking more of a constant state of being that some have that has become a way of life. If it/they, does/do not grow me, lift me up, or make me a better person, I have no place for it/them in my life. Life is too short to be spent wallowing in the mire with others and their stinkin’ thinkin’!

les-brown-quotes-3

I looked back at my photos from this past year and realized that I have a lot of phenomenal people in my life. A lot of them I just recently met the last quarter of the year. I love taking photos because to me it is “capturing life.” I must confess that I was at a really low point at the end of the summer because I allowed one or two people to wreak havoc on my emotions. Notice I said allowed.

We teach people how to treat us by what we allow. I have made a commitment to myself that I will never allow myself to be mistreated again-by friends, family, co-workers, or acquaintances. Some may call it selfish/harsh/unfriendly, whatever. They are generally the offenders who will always come up with excuses for their actions. They can all wallow in the pig pen together and share their filth. I choose to not be a part of it. 12369111_1364475893657340_8365204582981999199_nThat being said, old habits die hard. When one has bad habits, they have to learn how to replace them with good ones to be successful. One such good habit I have acquired is embracing the power of community. I cannot state enough how making a commitment to be a part of a running group has made me a better person. I hate having to miss it at times due to work obligations.

There truly is power in numbers and having others to do those long runs with has been a wonderful thing. It has also brought me out of my comfort zone of running in cold weather since I am a cold weather weenie. Being uncomfortable is the only way we grow. PLUS, I am around like minded people who share the love of running and are great encouragers. They aren’t there to judge me or find fault. Runners are some of the most upbeat/positive people on the planet! We may fall down in our goals (or in my case literally, lol), but we get back in the game and keep on truckin’!

12360215_10153556885787949_775324991576755863_n
Just a “few” of the awesome run group

 

Another great community is my work family. They are some of the BEST group of RNs/CNAs that I have EVER worked with. Such professionalism, fortitude & a great team. We are not out to “eat” each other, but to help each other and do what is best for our patients. I couldn’t have made a better move than when I moved to my current unit. Love those gals!

I will be the first to admit that there are daily resolutions that I fall short-I am human after all. Such as the 10  day no sugar challenge between Thanksgiving & Christmas. I made it 5 days and decided that I missed my chocolate milk a little too much. I may try it again at some point, but not any time soon. I also fell just 50 miles short of my goal of 1,500 miles ran for the year, and that’s okay too.

On The Horizon

Goal to run 2,016 miles in 2016. That is entirely attainable, I just need to make a plan.

Training for and completing my first 100 miler. I have committed to this, so I will do it.

More trail runs. Knock off a few more states in my quest for a 1/2 or full  marathon in each state.

Meet more amazing people and be that person for others.

Continue to learn and grow as a person and find the beauty in every day.

I know people may get tired of hearing about my running, but how can one not talk about the thing that has made such a difference in one’s life? I often wonder what I would have been like if I had never made this incredible sport part of my life. I can honestly say in some regards, that running has saved my life. It has definitely saved my sanity. I hope everyone can find that sweet spot-whatever it may be, that helps them in their quest for health & happiness in 2016.1390564_1007135702687562_1264012081973904938_n

Until We Meet Again,

Stephanie

Life is like an onion, you peel off one layer at a time, and sometimes you cry – Les Brown

 

 

 

Published by

Stephanie W.

Finding my way as I navigate the second half of life. I seek to inspire, motivate, encourage, & celebrate life through laughter & running. I am redefining aging & what it means to live life to the fullest irrespective of one's past or present circumstances. "Man is so made, that whenever anything fires his soul, impossibilities vanish." -La Fontaine

4 thoughts on “This Onion Called Life”

Leave a comment